Texas Last Will & Testament Information

Texas Last Will & Testament includes the following requirements:

The testator must be eighteen years old or older, unless they are serving in the armed forces, or have been married. 

They must also be of ‘sound mind’.​

The Will must be signed by the testator or by someone else in their name (provided it is done under the testator’s direction and in their presence).

The signing of the Will requires at least two witnesses over the age of 14 in order to make it valid. 

Another requirement to make the Will valid is that it must be in written format. Handwritten wills may also be valid. They must be signed by the testator and written up by them. Witnesses are not required for handwritten wills, though an affidavit is required attesting that the document is the testator’s last will and testament. It must also be stated that they were 18 years or older, or a member of the armed forces, or lawfully married. 

A Texas resident may bequeath their assets to any beneficiaries. In addition, a will has to be proved in probate within four years after the testator’s death. In the event that this doesn’t happen, the property is divided through the Texan laws of intestacy. 

Click here if you have any questions about creating a last will in Texas.


Bank of Mom & Dad

Bank of Mom & Dad See the table below for % of 21-39 year olds who have relied on parents financially since the start of